Wonderful WordPress Saves The Day

25 07 2008

Thanks to WordPress, having an active social life need not stop you blogging. Without the ease with which he was able to pre-publish today’s blog post, you might have had to all do without his pearls of wisdom. Quite how you would have managed nobody knows.

Fear not, though, for here is today’s post. It’s as if he’s in two places at the same time. Which hopefully won’t cause damage to the spacetime continuum or anything like that.

After the recent slump in reader participation Mr President is concerned that you might all be losing interest in his littler corner of the internet. Despite not being one to bow to public pressure he is a man of the people, and wants you to be happy.

With that in mind he’d like some feedback. What would you like to see more of? What do you like about the blog? Is there anything at all you’d like to see less of?


Actions

Information

8 responses

27 07 2008
Stella

Love the social and political commentary. I’ve also enjoyed it when you have strayed over the line into personal blogging. Of course the MTC posts are a big feature of this blog and it’s always interesting to see what you come up with, even if I’ve been too lazy to participate myself so far.

I have little interest in cricket, so I tend to skip over those posts, but I feel sure your analysis is well thought out and coherently presented. To be frank, I miss the point of the Wiki posts and the quiz results, so I don’t read those either.

28 07 2008
Oscar-Worthy Ledger Bails Out Bale « Textual Relations

[…] later than he’d planned (2:00am) and he was too tired to write at that hour. You people got more time to give him feedback anyway (clearly you love the […]

28 07 2008
Mr President

Social and political commentary is what I think I do best, so I’m glad to see that you agree. I’ll be trying to get back to more of that as I feel it’s an area I’ve drifted from a tad. Personal blogging is something I may increase too, but I’m keen for this not to turn into a emo journal. If I can relate more “lighthearted” personal things I may start doing that.

I love the MTC, it’s something I always encourage my readers to do (and I finally got one in Reasonable Robinson!) and it helps challenge me.

Cricket/football are passions of mine but if people feel I’m talking about it too much I’d be ok with phasing the content down a little. My analysis probably isn’t all that good but I often need to vent so I do.

Quiz results I usually post because I hope the quizzes themselves might be entertaining. There seems to be a little bit of interest in them but not a lot, so we’ll see how that pans out. I like to think of the blog as “light reading” for your morning coffee/breakfast so a quiz seemed to fit that idea, but only if people actually want to do them. We’ll see…

The Wiki-Wednesday is probably the one feature I think has outlived its usefulness. Initially it was just a meme I saw somewhere which seemed interesting, generate a random article on something from Wikipedia that might be of interest and be something unusual you might not normally read about. Not sure it’s still doing that, may rethink/scrap it.

28 07 2008
Monday-Meme - Mystery Topic Challenge #14 « Textual Relations

[…] – Mystery Topic Challenge #14 28 07 2008 One of the things that was raised by the recent feedback was that the Mystery Topic Challenge provides some of Textual Relations’ best material. Yet […]

31 07 2008
We Interrupt This Broadcast… « Textual Relations

[…] on the recent feedback, though, he had decided to abolish the Wiki-Wednesday altogether and went ahead and deleted all of […]

31 07 2008
We Interrupt This Broadcast… | Textual Relations

[…] on the recent feedback, though, he had decided to abolish the Wiki-Wednesday altogether and went ahead and deleted all of […]

8 08 2008
Introduction To Wordless Wednesdays « Textual Relations

[…] post was a little different from the usual offerings here on Textual Relations. After some recent feedback, Mr President discontinued Wiki-Wednesday. When he thought of his options for its replacement, he […]

8 08 2008
Introduction To Wordless Wednesdays | Textual Relations

[…] post was a little different from the usual offerings here on Textual Relations. After some recent feedback, Mr President discontinued Wiki-Wednesday. When he thought of his options for its replacement, he […]

Leave a Reply

