Has Mr President Lost It?

13 07 2008

Hyperbole is a way of life on Textual Relations. This comes as no surprise, of course, since the blogger behind it all goes by the name “El Presidente”. It can’t really get more inflated and self-important than that. When he prattles on and on endlessly about how unappreciated he is, the tiny hint of a kernel of truth is masked in faux arrogance for all to see, and it’s done for effect.

Yet when he says he’s a bit miffed by the lack of even one response to yesterday’s post about his writer’s block he’s not exaggerating. He wouldn’t be exaggerating to say that it makes him feel unappreciated. What crossed his mind when he saw that was that he bears his heart and soul to you people and that’s the thanks he gets?

For once he asked a boon of his readers, and they fail to grant it to him.


Actions

Information

4 responses

13 07 2008
Stella

I would have written something, but I had writer’s block.

13 07 2008
Pribek

I meant to comment, I really did. But, at the same time and, for the first time, I am facing an actual deadline as a, work for hire, writer (that’ll get you over writer’s block), I got a last minute call to do play a gig.

As for writer’s block, I have much more experience as a songwriter and the best thing I’ve found is this; don’t try to make something happen, let something happen.

Please accept my apology for not recognizing the serious nature of your cry for help.

14 07 2008
jayne d'Arcy

Oh for heaven’s sakes! You need to give us a chance. šŸ™‚ What I do for writer’s block is to read something that I find interesting and that is close to what I want to write. To get back into blogging, I had to start reading blogs again. When I’m writing my Harry Potter fan fiction (that sucker is at 54 chapters now with NO sign of ending anytime soon!) I read Harry Potter fanfic stories. I cannot begin to tell you how much I’ve read, but suffice it to say I am really glad I’ve come across well written stories than not well written. Finally, if I want to write one of my strange and/or horror stories, I read scary stories and I listen to music that gets me in the mood.

If that isn’t your cup of tea, all the writer’s block books will tell you that one of the best things to do is, as Pribek said, not to force it. If you need to take a break, then do so. Get outside, take a drive, just have fun doing something else.

Whatever you do, we’ll be waiting until you get yourself squared away.

14 07 2008
Mr President

Stella: Heh. That’s why I love ya.

Pribek: Don’t worry about it, I’m glad to hear that you’re doing well for yourself, besides, I was being somewhat melodramatic. Writer’s block may be in full swing but the hyperbole never leaves. To be honest the main reason I wrote this was I had nothing else to write.

If you’ve got nothing to write a good whinge provides decent material, and this post even got some comments! I think you’re right though, at the moment I’m trying too hard to force the material because I’m used to having so much of it that I could post every day without feeling the strain, but all of a sudden the well has gone truly dry.

Jayne: You’re right, I should have known you’d leap to my rescue in due time, but as I told Pribek, I mainly wrote this post because I figured that with my writer’s block still causing trouble I might as well write a good old whinge post. A little melodrama never hurt anyone.

You’re probably right, I should get back to what brought me back to blogging in the first place, which was reading other blogs. If I go back to my feedreader (it’s been neglected for months) and start reading my favourite blogs again, chances are I’ll find some inspiration.

The good news is that today is Monday-Meme, so I’ve got some time.

Leave a Reply

