Monday Meme – Musical Mondays

11 02 2008

A fellow Blog Ninja also seems to like the idea of a Monday meme. I’m going to assume I inspired her since, well, I inspire everyone with my sheer greatness (speaking of which, don’t forget to vote for my MTC entry). So for my first foray into the world of Musical Mondays I chose Palahniuk’s Laughter by Fightstar. It’s not only an awesome song but it was the highlight of my evening on Friday.

Here’s the song:

The lyrics:

I’m not in your house,
But I’m not in your head,
You’re not even listening.
It’s so hard to know
When you’re not scared.

Please don’t help me,
Please don’t hate me.

Stop putting me down,
Coz I won’t ever understand.
(Stop panicking, stop panicking.)
I see it in your eyes
I see it in your mind.
(Stop panicking, stop panicking.)

I’m trying not to speak,
Coz you can’t hear my voice,
Nothing seems familiar here.
On the other side
Of this town.

Please don’t help me,
Please don’t help me.

Stop putting me down,
Coz I won’t ever understand.
(Stop panicking, stop panicking.)
I see it in your eyes,
I see it in your mind.
(Stop panicking, stop panicking.)

Hold On..
Hold On..

If I see this all again,
I’ll try to take my time,
I wonder how fast you could try.

All this time I thought you knew
All this time I thought you knew.

Unfortunately I can’t use Pandora (as I’m based outside the US) so I had to settle for using Last FM’s radio which isn’t quite the same (had to input artist not the song).

1) Mono by Fightstar (not my favourite Fightstar song by a long way)

2) Crushed Under The Weight Of The Enormous Bullshit by Reuben

3) Escape Artists Never Die by Funeral For a Friend (another of my favourite songs)

4) Classical Machines (Iain Cook Aereogramme Remix) by Biffy Clyro (Love the song, never heard this version before. Have to say I rather like it)

5) Collapse by Saosin (whose former lead singer is now fronting Circa Survive…)

So that is my version of Musical Mondays. What’s yours?


Actions

Information

5 responses

12 02 2008
BunGirl

A thousand apologies… I had no idea Pandora was US only. I don’t even remember it asking where I lived… Anyway, thanks for participating! Oh, and great song… hadn’t heard it before.

12 02 2008
Mr President

Oh it didn’t ask, it works it out based on the IP address you use. Since yours was clearly based in the US it would probably not have bothered notifying you. It’s a licensing issue they’re going through, apparently they’re trying to resolve it but at the moment it’s US-only.

Glad you liked the song. Not many people have heard it before. I really enjoyed the meme, brought up some interesting results, some songs I’ve heard before and love, others that were new and interesting.

14 04 2008
Textual Relations

[…] from Musical Mondays there hasn’t actually been a “Monday Meme” even though he liked that title for […]

14 04 2008
Monday Meme - Mystery Topic Challenge « Textual Relations

[…] from Musical Mondays there hasn’t actually been a “Monday Meme” even though he liked that title for […]

5 05 2008
Monday Meme - Musical Mondays Returns « Textual Relations

[…] Meme – Musical Mondays Returns 5 05 2008 It’s been a while since we did a Musical Monday here on Textual Relations and the first thing Mr President noticed […]

Leave a Reply

