The Return of the BlogNinjas

20 01 2008

The BlogNinjas are back for 2008. After pigging out on turkey we had to hit the dojo for some serious training but now we’re ready to carry on kicking ass like only we can. If you’re not a Blog Ninja yet why not make it your New Year’s resolution? Sign up here for your complimentary shuriken. Uniform not provided. Please visit the Mystery Topic Challenge Blog to view all of the entries. Once you’ve read them all, please be sure to vote HERE in the Sidebar for your favorite.

Today marks the day for Mystery Topic Challenge #6, the first of 2008. The topic was proposed by Jester of Jestertunes, the winner of MTC #5. His story about Christmas Colonics touched us in places nobody else could reach. His incredibly long but incredibly fascinating (I’m looking forward to the entries) choice of topic was:

You know how you can be driving along, just minding your own business and suddenly a song will come on the radio that transports you through space and time so clearly and throughly that you miss your exit or rear end the car in front of you?

What song transports you through space and time, and where do you go?

Although I didn’t enter the challenge this time (I wasn’t able to commit enough time to produce a quality entry) I will spend a couple of short moments on it. For me lots of songs do this, and it changes, but ever since May it’s been Map Of The Problematique by Muse. I saw them at Wembley Stadium on the 17th of June last year, in a gig since proclaimed the Greatest Of All Time by many in the media.

This would be enough for most people. Your fearless leader, however, is not “most people” and was stood in the very front row, within touching distance of the band. Of course this had meant being outside the stadium (which is moments from where I live) at 7am for a concert where doors weren’t due to open until the early afternoon. No problem though, I met some great people including foil ninja.

Where we were the stage had a little platform that brought whoever stood on it even closer to the crowd. So much so that when Chris was on it and we shouted at him to give us a smile, he gave us the most forced grin ever whilst looking right at us. For Map of the Problematique, however, it was Matt who was on the platform, singing and being the rock god that he is, right in front of us. Whenever I hear the song I’m taken back to that very moment, which in turn reminds me of the whole day. The greatest day ever.

So for those of you who aren’t BlogNinjas (if not, why not? Join. Now.) I welcome comments that answer the same question. What song transports you away from the rat race and where does it take you? People who pick lousy songs will be shot.


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 01 2008
Bio

You know, I’ve been looking for a creative muse, and I think I’ve found it here. I have been meaning to get Muse on my computer for some time now and after reading this as well as them being the inspiration for the author of one of my favourite book series, I’m just going to have to cave.

*wanders off to d/l Muse*

20 01 2008
Mr President

Trust me, you won’t regret it. The back catalogue is varied but consistently good. They’re right on the cusp of greatness.

Leave a Reply

