Give Your Feed A Hug

4 12 2007

Three posts in a row without any comments? I must be losing my touch. Admittedly yesterday’s was a quiz but that was only because I didn’t want to overwhelm you after two pretty solid posts. With the holidays it’s pretty understandable that people have better things to do than keep up with the blogs they read and the lack of comments left me unsure if people had read them. What am I thinking? Of course you read them! You have nothing better to do.

Moving on, a few days ago I came across rssHugger, largely thanks to Zybron. Thanks to his review I thought I’d check it out myself. From what I can gather the site seems to have jumped on a major sea-change in the world of blogging. Where once blog directories were an important online service bloggers are now realising that the power of spreading your url is not as important as the power of spreading your feed.

Put simply now that the initial “buzz” surrounding blogging has died down somewhat (see Scotty’s great post about the death of the blogosphere) most blog readers no longer track a conventional blogroll. As someone who has a blogroll I have to confess that I largely use it to introduce my readers to new blogs rather than as my means to keep up with my favourite blogs. I tried that once and found it difficult to keep up.

Some of you may have noted I make more comments on other blogs now and this is a direct result of changing how I read blogs. This change has come in the form of feed reading. No longer do I track a blogroll, I track a list of feeds, and can read all my favourite blogs in one place. If I then want to comment I can visit the blog, thereby giving the blogger a valuable hit but just as importantly, a regular reader.

It is this shift from reading blogs to reading feeds that rssHugger has capitalised on, building an rss directory rather than a conventional blog directory. This is far more likely to generate proper readership as opposed to the occasional visit because it is through a feed that a reader can decide if they like what you blog about. Instead of randomly coming across your site on a traffic exchange they can discover blogs that write about subjects they’re genuinely interested in.

Here’s a great quote from the rssHugger website itself:

Through the power of the internet and viral marketing, rssHugger looks to bring blog writers and blog readers closer together. If you own a blog, you can get your own page on rssHugger for 10 years for giving an honest review of the site on your blog. If you want to join rssHugger but do not want to review our site, you can pay a one time review fee of $20. rssHugger will be the first ever quality, spam free, and viral rss directory strictly for bloggers.

Why not check them out? Write an honest appraisal and get listed for free.


Actions

Information

5 responses

4 12 2007
Jayne d'Arcy

errrrr I’m a bit suspicious of a new service that’s already charging a fee.

5 12 2007
Collin LaHay

@Jayne: It is free!

PS: Your blog has been approved.

5 12 2007
Mr President

Thanks Collin. I’ve actually explained to Jayne the way the system works.

5 12 2007
Jayne d'Arcy

Got it, am trying it out, AND wrote a review.

5 12 2007
Mr President

That, Jayne, is why you rock.

Leave a Reply

