NaBloPoMo Challenge

26 11 2007

The final stretch of NaBloPoMo is drawing near and I’m still very much short of my word count target. To write 50,000 words worth of blog posts in a month was always going to be challenging, and in many ways I’d argue it was probably a more demanding task than NaNoWriMo. Writing a novel relies more on getting into a flow so the words come easier, whereas a blog is stop-start.

Certainly for me writing fiction tends to bring out my verbose side (my blog is actually succinct by my standards) so I think I’d have little trouble bashing out 50,000 words in a month. I’ll have to spend a year trying to think up a plot and saving it up for next November to enter NaNoWriMo next year and prove it. Which I will. Because I’m great.

Whatever anyone says I set myself the challenge and looking back perhaps it was overly ambitious. In all seriousness I never intended it to be a challenge, I just wondered if I’d get close to 50,000 in a month, but one of the comments gave me the idea to turn into my own personal challenge. I’m glad I did though because NaBloPoMo was nothing beyond my usual blogging as I post every day anyway. Not much challenge in that.

Still, with a few more days left I wonder if I can get close to 25,000. Currently I’ve got roughly 17,000 so that would require 8,000 words in four days. That’s certainly possible. The real challenge will be doing it without boring you all.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

