Life? Don’t talk to me about life!

17 11 2007

Don’t you hate it when technology lets you down? My hard drive, though working perfectly well enough, has started sending me subtle hints that it may be time to replace it. I’m going to be building a new rig soon enough anyway so any investment in a drive now will save me buying a drive for the new rig, at least for a while. I don’t mind replacing it, in fact I’m quite excited by the idea of getting my hands on some new technology. God I’m such a geek.

Although not much to look at a new drive can seriously speed up your performance, especially since I’ll be buying some extra RAM while I’m at it. On top of that I’ll be ordering a new mobile on Monday too so life is good. However what bugs me is that I’ve been so busy researching the various drives on the market, reading reviews and looking at prices over the last couple of days that between that and all my other commitments I’ve fallen behind the “less important” stuff. Hopefully it’ll all calm down soon.

My blogging, for example, has had to become less of a priority. Today I faced the choice of either shopping for food or blogging. It was a simple choice, much as I love you guys I like eating more. So long as it’s healthy. Not only that but I haven’t been able to keep up with the blogs I read, nor one of the forums I read. This means I have a massive backlog to catch up on. To be precise, eighty-one new blog posts and six, yes, six days worth of forum posts. Boy do I have a busy day ahead of me tomorrow.

So if you’re not happy with this little chunk of blog content for today…tough.


Actions

Information

8 responses

18 11 2007
Veiled Secrets

Technology always lets me down at the worst of times, usually in the middle of a meeting my laptop will throw a sissyfit and refuse to work and slapping it does not work this is when knowing shorthand, pen and paper come in very handy.

18 11 2007
Mr President

Tell me about it. I was without internet and telephone a few months back and I was lost. It was like being amish. Never had occured to me how much I relied on things like Google, imdb and Wikipedia every single day.

18 11 2007
Pribek

“rig” heh, heh.. rig!

18 11 2007
Mr President

What’s so funny about that? I build performance computers. I’m a geek.

18 11 2007
Jayne d'Arcy

82? I’ve got you beat. 116 unread blog posts. I’ve spent all morning and part of this afternoon catching up. And, of course, I just had to go and add some more new blogs to my reader.

Cheer up, Marvin, Life isn’t all that bad.

18 11 2007
Joel Klebanoff

You opened by asking, “Don’t you hate it when technology lets you down?” The answer is, NO! Not at all.

If I hated it when technology let me down I wouldn’t be responding to this … I would have committed suicide long ago. Technology was invented to let us down. Its use helps us to satisfy our latent masochistic tendencies and keeps real life interesting.

18 11 2007
Mr President

Jayne darling, I actually had over 150 unread blog posts, it’s just that 70-odd of them were from one blog so I decided not to count it as I thought it skewed the figures a tad. Especially as I was putting off catching up on that one for that very reason! I still haven’t, in fact.

Joel that’s a very good point and one I clearly hadn’t considered. Technology exists to make humans feel a tad less worthless and realise that there’s actually a great thing out there called the real world.

20 11 2007
Textual’s Twitter Trifecta « Textual Relations

[…] Somehow a little gem over on iJustine’s blog escaped my attention when I was watching up on my massive backlog of blog posts (which, despite my best efforts, seems to go up again as soon as I get it […]

Leave a Reply

