No Sweat

1 11 2007

Today marks the beginning of NaBloPoMo 2007 and this year I’m taking part (click the button in the sidebar to be taken to my NaBloPoMo page). It takes no extra effort on my part and may very well get this blog noticed by more potential readers. Some see this as a rival to NaNoWriMo but as the NaBloPoMo page itself says it’s more of an alternative to that particular competition.

For those who have no idea what either is (and I must confess I only just discovered both this week) NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month, a challenge in which contestants are challenged to write a 50,000 word novel (or part of a novel) within a month. For those who lack the imagination or stamina to write a novel in that timeframe NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) challenges people to update their blog daily with no specific word count required. SomeGo mad and do both!

As someone whose blog posts often exceed 1,000 words I’m curious to know if over the course of the month I can actually get to the NaNoWriMo 50,000 word mark using just blog posts. Although I won’t intentionally be trying to hit that milestone (I would hate to bore you by writing waffle simply to get to an arbitrary word count) I will be keeping an eye on my NaBloPoMo wordcount over the course of November to see if it gets close.

Although NaNoWriMo emphasies quantity over quality (so much so the slogan is “No Plot? No Problem!” which is also the title of a book written by the event’s founder) I set high standards for my own writing (something which I hope comes across in my blog) and would be loathe to take part without a plot. The word count itself doesn’t phase me. Perhaps I can come up with a viable plot in time to take part next year?


Actions

Information

3 responses

1 11 2007
somegosoftly

I love your twist on the challenge! Great idea, I’m sure it’ll be a piece of cake for you!! (Oh wait romi’s the cake lover…)

2 11 2007
romi41

haha…i am the cake lover, but I also just inhaled a chocolate caramel marshmallow brownie a half hour ago, and it was pretty darn awesome 😉

Wow, you guys are real troopers with your contest; I don’t have the stamina for either 50,000 words or 1 post a day, so I’ll be keeping my eyes on your stuff 😉

30 11 2007
It’s Over « Textual Relations

[…] I have also been under a self-issued challenge. As a result of SomeGo somewhat misunderstanding my musings on whether my blog posts for NaBloPoMo would come close to NaNoWriMo’s wordcount of 50,000 a […]

Leave a Reply

