May The Force Be With You

9 10 2007

I’ve long been a big fan of Ewan McGregor. The character of Obi Wan Kenobi for a Star Wars fanatic like me was sacred, and when I’d first heard that they were making prequels, I did wonder who could do Sir Alec Guinness justice. Obi Wan will always be Sir Alec to me, because the original three were not only the best films of the bunch but also came along at a time when I was a child, and thus a much more impressionable person. Times have made me stubborn. Mr McGregor was quite possibly the only actor alive who could have played the role and not had me clawing my eyes out. However this only makes me an even bigger fan.

The men and women of our armed forces (and that goes for any armed forces worldwide) amaze me. Whether you agree with the causes they fight for (and many of them do not), you have to recognise the immense courage it takes to make the ultimate sacrifice, to risk your life simply to do a job. Many of us just work to pay the bills, some of us actually work because we enjoy it, but how many of us work knowing we could die any second and do it anyway?

Firefighters, police and armed forces personnel all risk life and limb, but what makes this story all the more amazing is that this woman risked her life when even firefighters thought it was too dangerous. Not only that, but in her “day job” she tackles bombs in a war-torn country, where explosives are killing her fellow soldiers with frightening regularity. There are no superlatives worthy of this woman, I am in awe of her so much that even I am lost for words.


Actions

Information

2 responses

9 10 2007
Jayne d'Arcy

I know I couldn’t do it voluntarily. However, if push came to shove and there was no way to save you from a grenade, I’d throw myself on it to save you. Anyone, for that matter. Except for maybe Hilary Clinton.

9 10 2007
Mr President

I’m glad you have some standards. Although saving me would be a bad idea. I’m evil. And stuff. I still think she’s amazing though.

Leave a Reply

