US Open

26 08 2007

The US Open begins tomorrow and quite frankly I wonder if I’m the only one who would rather just see the whole thing fast-forward to the final. At least where the men’s title is concerned. Nadal and Federer do not seem ready to relinquish their tight grip on the major honours in men’s tennis, and frankly I cannot see past another Nadal v Federer final. Not that that would be a bad thing, far from it, the Wimbledon men’s final was one of the very best I have seen in years, and on a hardcourt surface, I can only seen it being tighter. It just seems to make the rest of the tournament a waste of time and I’m fairly confident I won’t bother tuning in until the final.

On the women’s circuit it at least looks a tad more competitive, with both Henin and both Williams sisters having won a Grand Slam this year and Sharapova as returning champion. Certainly, if all four make the semi-finals that would be the time I’d begin to tune in. Maybe it’s just me, but I honestly feel the Grand Slams go on for too long. They need to be a tad shorter. In an era where there are so few upsets, a lot of the “minnow” players would be better off playing their own seperate “satellite” tournaments whenever there’s a Grand Slam going on.

As it is now, for most it’s like sending a knife-fighting monkey to a gun fight.


Actions

Information

2 responses

27 08 2007
romi41

I don’t know why, but when you said “minnow players” I laughed out loud; I’m gonna start calling the co-workers who I think are dumber than me “minnows”; I’ll play it off as a compliment; they won’t even know the difference, ’cause they’re so friggin’ stupid! HA!

27 08 2007
Mr President

It’s actually a fairly common way to refer to “small” teams in football (“soccer” to our North American cousins).

Leave a Reply

